Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Instructor says to disregard sights; use "triangulation" for "combat shooting"

Instructor says to disregard sights; use "triangulation" for "combat shooting"

Other thread with some context.

So we have a few weekends of training in the pipeline, this past weekend was numero uno. Instructor has a LE background, with some time in SWAT. Right off the bat he was saying we will not be "focusing on the sights" and instead using "triangulation and body-alignment to land upper-thoracic shots at speed." He says this technique will work out the 20 yards. Being a proper student, I held my incredulity. I don't consider myself of any shooting prowess, but have a few classes under my belt, a Defoor class this summer, and a few years of SSP and Production, and some marksmanship instructor BS in the Marines.

Am I right in my disbelief? Especially since this training is accompanying the legal burden of school protection? Has anyone encountered this before? He has the ears of the powers-that-are so I don't think there is anything I can say.

Another thing he did is after he verified all our weapons were clear, is suggest that during dry-fire and presentation practice, we aim at other students so we all get used to pointing guns at others and having guns pointed at us... I just aimed at the wall.

PS: Also... scout's honor, he was using a Serpa.
    "Do nothing which is of no use." -Musashi

What would TR do? TRCP BHA

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by PNWTO View Post
    Another thing he did is after he verified all our weapons were clear, is suggest that during dry-fire and presentation practice, we aim at other students so we all get used to pointing guns at others and having guns pointed at us... I just aimed at the wall.
    I'm pretty sure I would have left. I'm not willing to be some random guy's dryfire target.
    Last edited by JV_; 03-07-2016 at 10:28 AM.

Now *this* sounds about right for higher ed...

"triangulation"