Thread: A little high and to the left

A little high and to the left

Hi Folks,
    I'm fairly new to shooting--been at it for about a year now. I mostly shoot a revolver, a Ruger GP100. I'm hoping you can help me diagnose my main accuracy problem. I can almost always shoot about an inch and a half to two inch grouping at 7 yards double action and be dead center on the bullseye. I can often get a tighter grouping shooting single action. But my single action shots are sometimes a little to the left and sometimes just a tad high. Some days I get everything inside the bullseye, but other days I get this problem of being off to the left. I've tried adjusting where I place my finger on the trigger, paid extra attention to making sure I'm doing a complete follow through, I don't load all the chambers to see if I can catch myself flinching in that direction, and I still can't figure it out. Some days I think I'm doing wonderfully and then I bring the target back and am shocked that I'm not. Other days I do just fine. I'm not good enough to call my shots yet, but I do watch the sights all the way through. Once in a while I can see the gun lifting a bit to the left, but just as often it lifts to the right. (99 percent of the time it goes straight up).
    Any ideas what I could be doing wrong and why I don't seem to do it when I shoot double action? I want to move on to greater speed and farther distance, but not until I get this problem solved.

Thanks in advance for your help.