Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Competition Sight Choices

Competition Sight Choices

I have been using a standard black Dawson sight with a narrow FO red front since I started shooting a few years ago. My new Glock 34 just arrived and I am now reconsidering my choices in sights. I am currently ranked EX and plan to shoot the 34 next year on my quest for MA. My knee jerk reaction is to just run out and buy another set of Dawson’s as I think they are pretty great, but they are a little difficult to use on the low light stages and I kind of like Amerigo combo front sight I keep on my home defense gun (GL-212-OR-C) matched with a black rear. I know most folks say to use what you carry but I live in MD and we do not yet have the right to carry. So my question to you all is what do you recommend in a competition only sight?
    Thanks!

Maybe a Heinie ledge with the tip of the front sight painted neon red? During the day it would be somewhat close (I think) to your Dawson setup and would offer night sights for low light.

My only concern is the width of the front sight. I'm not sure how similar a narrow front Dawson setup will look compared to the Heinie setup.

*edit* This is my plan, I don't know how close the sight pictures will be. I can tell you I tried the Ameriglo I-dot Pro setup for my carry pistol to have something close to my DP fiberoptic and they look nothing alike. The big orange ball on the I-dot completely overwhelms the sight picture compared to the thin (.100) DP fiberoptic. I find it very difficult to shoot the I-dot accurately at distance (~25 yds) compared to the thin DP fiberoptic.
    Last edited by Noleshooter; 09-05-2013 at 02:11 PM.

I am actually just now trying out a (Dawson) FO front sight on my practice/competition gun. So my opinion of it is not formed yet.

But my overall favorite sights for competition - for me that's USPSA and GSSF - are Ameriglo Defoors (fully black.)