Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Time Plus and how fast is fast enough?

Time Plus and how fast is fast enough?

So I went to the range on Friday for some practice with a good friend of mine. I pulled a couple of drills off the forum that I have never done before to use in our practice session. Shot a P30 out of a Shaggy AIWB under a polo shirt for everything. The first drill I did was the 99 drill with a 3x5 card. I made all the times by a long shot, but ended up dropping 8 points on the drill, 91 shots in the 3x5 card. Great drill, but I was not using all the par time that I had to get my shots. Pretty much shot it as fast as I could trying to get really good hits.

The next drill we shot the modified LAPD SWAT qualification that was posted by Dr. Roberts. Learning my lesson from before, I made sure to slow down just a little and use the time. I was able to shoot it one point down, dropped one shot on the last moving run from 10 to 3 yards. A body shot just a little high on the way up to the head shot. Name:  LAPD SWAT Qual.jpg
Views: 705
Size:  49.4 KB

There is no doubt that I could easily learn to shoot this clean every time. As I am sure many people do on a regular basis. So the thought crossed my mind, at what point in a shooters development should they switch over to some kind of time plus scoring for these type drills. Even further, is it practical for an agency to use a time plus scoring model for qualification of say a full time SWAT team?