Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New IDPA shooter looking for recommendations

New IDPA shooter looking for recommendations

Hello All,

I'm not new to firearms (as I've been in the reserves for some time now) but am new to competition shooting. I've been shooting at local IDPA events for a couple months and been having fun and improving my skills. Recently I shot an IDPA qualifier and just barely qualified marksman. I'm using a stock Beretta 92FS (because it's so similar to the M9) and want to stay with it.

I'd like to tap into the expertise of the forum to see how I can improve my scores. From the details I've posted below, I'm going to go ahead and say I need to improve both accuracy and time. The most difficult stage for me is still Stage 3. What recommendations can you suggest? What specific drills should I do to improve my overall score?

Thanks!

Stage 1 Stage 2 Stage 3
    String 1 5.52 6.28 30.8
    String 2 5.36 6.74 30.09
    String 3 5.57 17.69 10.25
    String 4 9.9 8.92
    String 5 5.78
    String 6 13.47
    String 7 9.83
    Raw Time55.43 39.63 71.14

Points Down
    T1 9 1 15
    T2 8 5 7
    T3 8 5 13
    Total PD 25 11 35
    TotalTime67.93 45.13 88.64
    Final score: 201.7

Quote Originally Posted by agoldin View Post
    Hello All,

I'm not new to firearms (as I've been in the reserves for some time now) but am new to competition shooting. I've been shooting at local IDPA events for a couple months and been having fun and improving my skills. Recently I shot an IDPA qualifier and just barely qualified marksman. I'm using a stock Beretta 92FS (because it's so similar to the M9) and want to stay with it.

I'd like to tap into the expertise of the forum to see how I can improve my scores. From the details I've posted below, I'm going to go ahead and say I need to improve both accuracy and time. The most difficult stage for me is still Stage 3. What recommendations can you suggest? What specific drills should I do to improve my overall score?