Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pistol wear, and leather VS kydex

Pistol wear, and leather VS kydex

So, many of us here have read enough on this, and likely some other sites, about holsters, and who prefers what and why. The merits of one make or model holster over another, one material or another, and so on. Now, because I'm relatively new to concealed carry, I may be a little behind the power curve on this, and it may have been covered several years back when plastics became more and more popular with holsters, so please bear with me on this. I have searched in many different ways on this site, including just going page by page, and I've come up dry. If you happen to know of a thread that includes something on this subject great. That saves time and space. I haven't found it.

There are several types and materials of holsters out there. Since I'm not to keen on the full on plastic, ones, my concern here is with leather and kydex. I know too, that many now include both, so feel free to mention any experiences with those as well. In other words, is the mouth reinforced, or the whole thing? Is there a layer of leather between the gun and the kydex? Is there much difference in two textures of leather, for example, I've seen some with a brushed or suede inside, as well as smooth finished leather.