Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Getting started, which hand? Optimize for eye dominance or hand dominance?

Getting started, which hand? Optimize for eye dominance or hand dominance?

Hope I'm not spamming the forum too much, but this seems worth a separate thread.

As noted in earlier posts, I'm just getting started on developing handgun skills. One possibly odd question I have is, which hand should I learn on, or should I learn on both? I'm a mixed bag on handedness, using my left hand for writing, eating, other fine motor skills, but with a strong preference for right hand on racket sports, tool use, other more macro activities. In the case of see a gun and reach for it I am currently 100% right handed. On the eyesight front I am definitively left eye dominant.

In my early pre-instruction tests with an airgun I am more accurate with right hand, able to reliably hit a 4" box at 7 yards, vs a 6" box at the same distance left handed. The easy thing to do would be to learn and train right handed, but I wonder if that would be a mistake when considering ultimate future capability.

Thanks in advance for any feedback or other input.

-Paul

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by paul-mf View Post
    Hope I'm not spamming the forum too much, but this seems worth a separate thread.

As noted in earlier posts, I'm just getting started on developing handgun skills. One possibly odd question I have is, which hand should I learn on, or should I learn on both? I'm a mixed bag on handedness, using my left hand for writing, eating, other fine motor skills, but with a strong preference for right hand on racket sports, tool use, other more macro activities. In the case of see a gun and reach for it I am currently 100% right handed. On the eyesight front I am definitively left eye dominant.