Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Operation Mirror Image in full swing

Operation Mirror Image in full swing

Last year I shot an IDPA match in which I was video taped firing a stage WHO. While I did well on the stage and won my division; upon review of the tape my non dominate weapons handling skill was a sight to behold. I looked like an orangutan flaying at a 2 penny nail with a 12 lb sludge.

Back in the 80's as an instructor I use to shoot mirror image all the time. In other words as a right handed shooter I would shoot the course of fire like I was a lefty. During that time frame my mirror image scores would be within a percentage point or two of my normal scores. Back then we used the B-27 target utilizing the competition scoring rings. Well it has been a couple of decades and since gun handling skills are perishable it showed.

My solution:

During my company's 2011 training season I will be spend the majority of my training time shooting mirror image. Also later in the season I will shoot an IDPA match in SSR mirror image as well. My goal is to regain those long lost skills. I feel as an instructor being competent as a non dominate handed shooter helps me understand and critique my left handed students.

To add a little spice to the mix, I have placed a bounty on my head. The first one of my students who beat my left handed scores wins a monetary reward. I already have some pushing me HARD.

Equipment used:
    S&W Mdl 10 DAO pencil nosed revolver
    Safariland 518 paddle holster level 1 retention
    Safariland Comp II speedloaders
    HKS speedloader poaches.

Last weekends results:
    Qualification course: 59 shot out of 60 within the ILEFIA Q targets 8" circle. At 25 yards I let one round slide outside the bottle.

Accuracy Drill: 18 rounds in a 1 inch group, 6 rounds fired at each of 3, 5, 7 yards