Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Boy, this is embarrassing

Boy, this is embarrassing

Squibs

Lots of squibs.

I started shooting some fmj .38 special I loaded a few years ago and have already had 5-6 squibs.

Before this batch I've had one squib since I was 14 that was was from me loading.

I think what happened was that I got to the bottom of the canister before I realized and wasn't checking every case.

Where I loaded in my basement at my last house in Rhode Island the lighting wasn't great. That's the only thing I can think of.

I'm going to shoot the rest as slow fire only.
    On the ragged edge of the world I'll roam,
    And the home of the wolf shall be my home - Robert Service

RCBS Lock-Out Die https://a.co/d/bFLQQS4
    “There is no growth in the comfort zone.”--Jocko Willink
    "You can never have too many knives." --Joe Ambercrombie

Site Supporter
    It might be worth weighing the loaded rounds.
    im strong, i can run faster than train

Quote Originally Posted by Caballoflaco View Post
    It might be worth weighing the loaded rounds.
    I tried this once and it did help identify a few obvious rounds. It’s crazy the variance between rounds. I was shooting low charge rounds so it was harder to tell. I think the bullet and case variance. I removed the ones I felt were obvious and then shot the hotter down to issue. Thankful that was only a batch of 100 but it certainly got my attention

I've found enough variation in the weight of different brass that I'm leery of just trusting weight for questionable loads.

If in doubt I just use my Magic Bullet Eraser
    https://ads.midwayusa.com/product/10...4aAs_bEALw_wcB

BTDT @03RN

It's a PIA. Hope all goes well for you.

Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    I've found enough variation in the weight of different brass that I'm leery of just trusting weight for questionable loads.

If in doubt I just use my Magic Bullet Eraser
    https://ads.midwayusa.com/product/10...4aAs_bEALw_wcB