Page 1 of 35 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: .45 acp in 2023/24

.45 acp in 2023/24

I have been really enjoying shooting the 10mm FN 510 the last few days. They also make the FN 545, which is a similar pistol, except in .45.

Any reason to have a FN striker in .45 these days, if you have its near twin in 10mm?
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

GJM:

Speaking to the 45 ACP issue (I have no experience with the FN Pistols you mentioned), here are a couple of thoughts:
    1. 45 brass and components are easier to find and cheaper to buy the 10mm.
    2. There are better outdoor/grizzly defensive loads available for the 45 now (Think the Lost River Ammo Co 45 +P 255 flat nose). I have little experience with the 10 mm cartridge (what experience I have with it centers around the H&K MP5/10 submachinegun) so I won't speak to which is better the 10 or 45 for big animal defense but the 45 has better selection of those kind of loads today.
    3. The 45 is an exceptionally easy cartridge to reload for and tends to produce very good accuracy in most handguns.
    4. While I have transitioned to running mostly 9X19mm handguns, I still have a fondness for the 45. I carried a Glock 21 for years and am very comfortable with that round. I cannot imagine keeping house without a 45 ACP.
    5. I suspect, but have no empirical data to prove, that a wider range of loads can be easily loaded with 45 brass, than the 10. Everything from target wadcutters, to 200 grain IPSC loads to 230 grain ball, hollowpoints to ultra heavy bullet loads.
    6. Sentimental Reasons: The 45 is still America's caliber.
    7. Practice ammo is less expensive than similar loads in the 10mm.

Buy both and drive on.

Bruce
    Bruce Cartwright
    Owner & chief instructor-SAC Tactical
    E-mail: "info@saconsco.com"

Quote Originally Posted by GJM View Post
    Any reason to have a FN striker in .45 these days, if you have its near twin in 10mm?