Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Neck knives

Site Supporter

Neck knives

From a scandal sheet:

https://nypost.com/2023/12/05/news/d...e-as-necklace/

Massachusetts dad accidentally stabs himself to death while wearing knife around his neck: ‘Horrible tragedy’

------

Had a neck knife set up. Nope, not practical for me. Only wore it to a match in a fit of Cos Play. If I wore it outside a shirt, my wife wouldn't let me out of the house. Under a shirt - why? In the shower, one argument for folks in unfriendly lands - maybe. For me - the fat old men in the gym seem not to be a threat.
    Cloud Yeller of the Boomer Age

If you have to ask why...

I've been using them for 30 years. Not for everyone, perhaps, but doesn't negate the utility for many of us.
    There's nothing civil about this war.

Site Supporter
    Curious, what's the set up. As an officer who might get entangled, I could see it. I didn't see it for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Glenn E. Meyer View Post
    Curious, what's the set up. As an officer who might get entangled, I could see it. I didn't see it for me.
    I'm not an evangelist for the method, simply saying it has its uses. I wouldn't go out of my way to try to sell the method.

Gave me a way of carrying a small fixed blade on the job under casual plainclothes... for practical purposes encountered during the course of a day, as well as a backup. (I'm not a knife fighting practitioner and it is rarely something I dwell on.)

Very convenient for my walks with the dog, especially at night and when wearing jackets or coats. Also convenient when in gym or workout attire, or when hiking with a pack.

When I need it, it's there, and it's light and generally unobtrusive.

I happen to like small fixed blades as a class...and high quality ones really resonate.

Anyway, I'm fine with it being a "niche" method...but it's one I've adopted as a regular part of my daily carry...and I've had some knife makers explore the genre with good results.