Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: G19 w/Grip Anchor vs. G45?

Site Supporter

G19 w/Grip Anchor vs. G45?

I recently got my first Glock, a G45. I've been carrying for almost 40 years and resisted getting a Glock because everybody, his brother, and his brother's dog, had one. I really like the G45.

Now that LTT has SCDs in stock again (have one on the way) I need to decide on Glock number two. It's going to be either a G19 with a Grip Anchor or another G45. Usage will be concealed carry - I'm a geezer and can dress around the gun, most of my other carry guns are full-size. I already have holsters and magazines. The additional two round capacity in the G45 is irrelevant for me. I carry strong side IWB most of the time, strong side OWB on occasion.

It looks like the difference in concealability would be a wash between them - is it? Also, reading through the grip anchor thread, it sounds like there may be a difference in how they shoot based on the grip designs. Is it big enough to cause issues switching between them? Are there any other concerns I haven't mentioned?

Thanks!
    "Everything in life is really simple, provided you don’t know a f—–g thing about it." - Kevin D. Williamson

I have both the G19 with grip anchor really isn’t bigger than without it and I carry strong side IWB. Shooting it, sometimes I think I prefer it over the G45 because where my pinky rides, I get a good grip and it doesn’t move around on multiple shots. The grip anchor fills out the back of my hand and just locks it in. It’s my daily CC though I have shot matches with it too.

Then I shoot the G45 and think this is my perfect match gun, I really like it and don’t see any difference shooting it or the G19 but it does print more and the G19 feels more secure most of the time. (I’ve had carpal tunnel surgery and have nerve damage in my hands so my grip is compromised, most others find the full size grip better so they tell me.)