Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shooting well vs being a good shooter

Shooting well vs being a good shooter

I have intermittently been thinking about this topic for a while, but in the last day I have listened to part of a PTSG podcast and read a post on Enos that brought this front and center. The question being are you trying to shoot well or learn to be a good shooter.

On PSTG, Stoeger said with a heavy gun like a CZ Shadow 2, you can get a crappy grip and still shoot alphas. With a Glock, that same grip results in a C or D.

Someone on Enos posted the following:

Name:  IMG_4497.jpeg
Views: 911
Size:  94.8 KB

I am all about picking the tool that allows you to better in games, but I don't think you should give up your fundamentals and ability to shoot an "unforgiving" gun like a Glock.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

So there are several local guys who are pretty solid shooters, using A01LDs, MPA, Staccatos, etc. I am an unranked amateur, using a subcompact, DAO, iron sighted gun, who typically will place ahead of these guys about 50% of the time. The skill is shooting fast, nothing more. I have watched them use a stock Glock and completely smoke me on raw time, but you add up the penalties and it isn't even close. The old saying of more dollars than sense comes to mind. Basically buying points, instead of developing skill. At a certain point, equipment matters, but in my experience, too many shooters spend money on the hardware, and don't invest time in the software.

off to yell at clouds.
    Taking a break from social media.

Hmm… interesting question. I think it comes down to what metrics you’re going to use to measure shooting well vs being a good shooter. Metric 1: Winning at matches is a good measure for “shooting well” on that particular day and against those that showed up. Metric 2: Dominating at matches on a regular basis against a deep field, that to me suggests a person has achieved the goal of being a “good shooter”.