Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hand Length to Gun Fit: A Case Study: RFI for Data on Pistol Size (Part 2)

Hand Length to Gun Fit: A Case Study: RFI for Data on Pistol Size (Part 2)

Since I started shooting approximately 10 years ago, I have not seen a good way to select a pistol based on ones physical hand size.

As far as I am aware, there is no industry standard numeric values for "small", "medium" or "large" handguns. Pistol manufacturers attempt to offer features to adjust to different hand sizes, such as grip panels, backstraps, or grip modules.

The methodology I plan to apply is first to gather anonymous information on hand sizes (Part 1). Part 1 was posted as a separate thread, here:

https://pistol-forum.com/showthread....-Size-(Part-1)

This thread is Part 2, in which I will ask for input on handgun sizing, using a consistent method of measurement. Finally, in Part 3, I will attempt to compare/contrast the data on hand size, with the information on handgun size, and try to draw some conclusions, about placing commonly available handguns could be grouped in terms of Small, Medium, and Large.

I appreciate that this may be a fools errand, as handgun fit is not necessarily a significant indicator to how well one performs, shooting. I have learned that the hard way, with several costly mistakes. If you agree, feel free to ignore this thread. Nonetheless, I find this kind of numerical analysis interesting, and in particular, how/whether this might aid someone new to handguns, select a pistol for first use.

On to the pistols: I have owned a few pistols but not as many as all of you combined obviously. Since this Part 2 is about gathering empirical data on pistols, I only have a few that I can measure.