Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Found A "One That Got Away" Today...

Site Supporter

Found A "One That Got Away" Today...

I had recently turned 21 and was looking for my first compact handgun to carry concealed...something that would be a lot easier to hide than my only other handgun, a Taurus PT92 (I carried the 92 in a Galco SOB holster...I had no idea what I was doing).

The Colt Officer's Model was my dream CCW, but with a bank mailroom worker's salary, that wasn't going to happen. I stumbled upon a well-used Star PD at an LGS and decided it would fill the role.

I carried the PD for about 2 years before I traded it for a 6906 (I was a rookie officer carrying a 5946 and figured it'd be advantageous to carry magazine compatible guns (Again, I was clueless and thought it mattered. Or maybe I was looking for an excuse to buy another gun).

Ever since, I thought about the PD every now and them and how much I loved that little gun. I'd casually kept an eye out when I visited gun shops...saw a couple over the years, but in pretty junky shape. I missed a few on GB recently that looked in decent condition, but either got outbid or I forgot about the auction and came back just after it ended. I made a trip upstate to visit a couple of gun stores and happened into a pawn shop close by to one. Browsing the case, my eye caught what I thought was a familiar profile and as I snapped my gaze back I said, "Oh...it was a Star BM."...but then a saw a tag showing "Star PD .45ACP" and nestled next to the BM was a pristine Star PD marked at $499. I handled it for a few, looking it over...amazed at the condition. Some slight haggling got me out the door at 10% off.