Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help me decide on a pocket 22

Site Supporter

Help me decide on a pocket 22

I'm trying to decide between:

1. Ruger LCR .22
    2. S&W Model 43 C .22

The Ruger is cheaper, easier to find, bigger and heavier. Possibly more reliable

The S&W is more expensive, smaller and lighter, and has the option of Crimson Trace LG-405 grips. Possibly lower quality/reliability.

Either one will be filled with Punch ammo.

Site Supporter
    I have no direct experience with either gun, but I pocket carry daily 5 days/week for 6-7 months/year. For pocket carry, little differences in size make a big difference.

43C for me. Mine's been great, as has my 317 and 351C. Long ago I briefly had one of the early LCR in .22 LR but didn't keep it. Can't recall it having any problems beside the POI being off for some windage which was a PIA.

You might find this interesting.

https://thetacticalprofessor.net/201...aring-the-lcr/
    “Remember, being healthy is basically just dying as slowly as possible,” Ricky Gervais

I picked the 43c, but mostly because I have other J Frames and J Frame holsters, so it fits all my kit. The 43c isn't without known issues, though. Mine had to go back to the factory to fix an out-of-the-box timing issue that caused lead to be spat out at me. Since then, it's been pretty good. The trigger is very heavy, as is the LCR's trigger I believe, but the front sight is pretty good (Also replaceable), and grip options are plentiful.

My vote is for the 43c. Even though mine had to go back as the cylinder would lock up, it came back fixed and with an impressively good .22 revolver trigger. Little bit of leading around the forcing cone and barrel crown, which I try to keep on top of. Waxier ammo seems to result in occasional stuck cases so I shoot mostly federal automatch and carry minimags.

The small overall size (compared to an LCR) and big front sight (XS dot) sold me

For me neither. I would go LCP 22lr.