Thread: The M16A2 is God's gift to the modern rifleman

The M16A2 is God's gift to the modern rifleman

Name:  IMG_20230421_132416.jpg
Views: 1531
Size:  103.3 KB

Attached Images Attached Images  
    On the ragged edge of the world I'll roam,
    And the home of the wolf shall be my home - Robert Service

When I was a young soldier with an M16A2 and a Comp M4 on a gooseneck mount, all I wanted was an M4. Now that I am older, I want a M16A2 something fierce.

I was issued an A2 in Basic… the M16A2 will always have a special place in my heart! I’ve been looking for a complete A2 upper for some time now… they’re incredibly hard to find!

I like the standard rifle configuration compared to carbines (well, other than old Winchester carbines). I hardly ever kick in doors, my use has been small game and varmint hunting and longer range fun shooting out to 6-800 yards. It was a lot more fun when ammo was well under .20C/rd.
    “Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat.”
    ― Theodore Roosevelt

Site Supporter
    I posted this in a 20in AR appreciation thread a couple years back... very relevant to A2 love!

Quote Originally Posted by JRB
    This was/is my hand-picked M16A2 from my previous unit's arms room. We had some M4A1's but not enough to go around, so I happily took an A2 since we were mobilizing as some straight turbo-fobbit logistics dweebs. That and I'm a nerd and I gushed pretty excitedly when I saw this rifle.