Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Undershirt for AIWB carry?

Undershirt for AIWB carry?

So I'm new to carrying AIWB and after a couple hours, the pistol's grip/upper part of kydex holster and spare mag's floor plate began to rub me on my bare skin above the underwear waistline. Would wearing a snug, breathable t-shirt like dri-fit under the holster solve this? Any drawbacks? Thanks.

That's what I do, it's much more comfortable. It may sound weird, but I've found tucking my undershirt into my underwear helps prevent getting a handful of shirt when drawing.

Quote Originally Posted by LowAndLeft View Post
    So I'm new to carrying AIWB and after a couple hours, the pistol's grip/upper part of kydex holster and spare mag's floor plate began to rub me on my bare skin above the underwear waistline. Would wearing a snug, breathable t-shirt like dri-fit under the holster solve this? Any drawbacks? Thanks.
    I usually wear an undershirt when carrying AIWB for various reasons.

Depending on the material of the shirt you use, you may see some of the following issues.
    1. The material creates some slight friction which can slightly slow or impede you getting a good firing grip.
    2. If the material is too slippery it may cause the index holster to shift or slide more. Using the Phlster Enigma pretty much resolved this issue for me, and has the added benefit of keeping any undershirt from coming untucked.
    3. If the undershirt does come unticked, even just a bit, it could become a snag hazard when reholstering
    4. Depending on the texture of your firearm, rubbing against the gun may cause quite a bit of wear in that spot on the shirt. I've tried some shirts that were completely trashed after one wear just from a stock Glock.

I've had really good luck with shirts from 32 degrees. They do a good job of staying cool, staying tucked, being affordable, and not coming apart from friction with the gun.

https://www.32degrees.com/products/m...32164151754841