Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AIWB: use longer holster than model of gun?

AIWB: use longer holster than model of gun?

I'm new to CCW and read in a couple places that suggested carrying your pistol in a longer-than-spec'd holster for AIWB. In my case, this would carrying my Glock 26 in a holster for a Glock 19. I don't understand why this is done (comfort? concealment?). Do wedges and/or wings give same benefit without longer length? Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by LowAndLeft View Post
    I'm new to CCW and read in a couple places that suggested carrying your pistol in a longer-than-spec'd holster for AIWB. In my case, this would carrying my Glock 26 in a holster for a Glock 19. I don't understand why this is done (comfort? concealment?). Do wedges and/or wings give same benefit without longer length? Thanks.
    I always carry my G26 in a G19 or G17 sized holster. The added length provides stability vs. rollout at the waistline and makes it easier to keep the gun tucked into the torso.

A wedge can assist with comfort and keeping the gun tucked in, whereas the wing in most cases keeps the grip tucked into the ribs. You'll have to fine tune the fit...which is part of the overall experience.

Start out with a good holster. I highly recommend both JMCK and Dark Star Gear...which are my two go-to makers for my Glocks. (Tenicor is another quality maker.)
    There's nothing civil about this war.

I was a big believer in carrying everything in a 17 or even 34 length holster. It is less of an issue for me now with a crotch pillow. I just have the king sized crotch pillow overhang the bottom of the holster an inch and this gives me the stability I need even with a 19 length holster. The crotch pillow also has moved me over to preferring WML holsters as they feel more stable than non-WML holsters.

Yes, allowing for personal ah, comfort in that area, longer is better (helps to keep the holster tilted in board, and not flop over) I've found.