Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Member looking for opinions on Sightron SRS-2

New Member looking for opinions on Sightron SRS-2

Just joined the group. After looking for pistol optics forum ran across this site. I am interested in any help or opinions on the Sightron SRS 2 red dot sight. I am relatively new to hand gun optics. The only handgun I presently have with a reflez sight is a .22 Browning Buckmark. I recently purchased a Stoeger STR9 optics ready 9mm. My eyesight is to the point I need some help beyond metallic sights. I don't want to spend a fortune on a red dot at this point, but I found a really low price on the SRS and am thinking about buying it for the Stoeger to see what improvement I see using optics before I spend a lot of money on higher end red dots i.e EOTech, Holosun, for my other pistols, Sig, Kimber Browning HP, etc. Just wondered if anyone has experience with it and opinions.
    Thanks for any help.

I doubt you're going to find anybody here with experience with it. I've never even heard of it.

I think you will benefit from stretching your funds to purchase a Holosun 407K or 407C. The 407C is RMR footprint and the 407K is based on the RMSc footprint. The 407C will have a bigger window and 2 MOA dot. The 407K will be a little smaller and 6 MOA. The 407K is a little cheaper.

I have trouble encouraging somebody to "take a chance" on a cheap, unproven optic. At this point, everybody knows who the players in the industry are. This is a life-saving tool for most people and choosing a very cheap optic that has no name recognition seems extremely risky. You will also find that the secondary market will be much better for a Holosun or other well-recognized brand optic if you decide it's not for you and you can't return it. There are plenty of threads where people get 75% or so of retail (or more) on a Holosun, but I've NEVER seen a used off-brand optic move.

New Member looking for opinions on Sightron SRS-2