Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dash cams

dash cams

I think there was a thread on this awhile back but here and now in the year 2023... what's what in dash cams?

Nothing too fancy. Don't want something that needs a professional install - like retrofitting a backup camera to a 1974 Gremlin. Front facing only is probably fine.

I have had a pair of these for the better part of a year. They don’t need to be wired together, the phone app marries the two streams. I wired mine but the cigarette plug works just fine.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/garmin-...?skuId=6464382
    Ken

BBI: ...”you better not forget the safe word because shit's about to get weird”...
    revchuck38: ...”mo' ammo is mo' betta' unless you're swimming or on fire.”

Since I have no personal experience with dash cams myself, I'll just present this without comment.

Almost EVERYONE is Wasting Money on Dash Cams

Linus Tech Tips - August 14, 2022

It’s been YEARS since dash cams hit the market, but it feels like we’ve been stuck at a standstill. Why is it that camera quality is so lacking? Are there really no good options when shopping for a dash cam to attach to the windshield of your car? (The second half of this video is pretty stunning!)

CHAPTERS
    ---------------------------------------------------
    00:00 Intro
    01:07 The Back-story
    02:37 Thinkware F70
    03:26 Biuone A20
    03:55 Chortau B-T13
    05:00 Iiwey T1 and Pruveeo D30H
    06:16 Rexing V1-4K
    06:57 Garmin Dash Cam Mini 2
    07:34 Rove R2-4K
    08:05 Viofo A119 V3
    09:12 BlackVue DR750X and Thinkware U1000
    10:30 THE REASON THEY'RE SO BAD
    15:04 tldr;
    17:04 outro
    Yippee ki-yay