Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chicken or egg -- big gun, little gun

Chicken or egg -- big gun, little gun

I have mainly been shooting my 2011 Open gun lately, and focusing on split speed, which is probably my greatest low hanging fruit.

Yesterday afternoon, I started shooting the same difficult target arrays with a Macro and G19 that I was shooting with my Open gun. My initial reaction was these arrays are hard, and little guns are hard to shoot. As I shot more, I realized that yes the small lightweight guns with heavier triggers are more demanding to shoot, but really they are more technique sensitive. What I mean is things you get away with a heavy gun with a short, light trigger you can't do with the small guns. To be specific, I need to grip harder with my support hand with the smaller guns, while gripping less hard with my strong hand, as I need less grip to move my trigger finger quickly and precisely.

I have come to believe the Open gun teaches you trigger speed and faster vision, which helps with the small guns, while at the same time the small guns teach you strong support hand grip and less strong hand tension which helps the larger gun, making both complementary.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

Quote Originally Posted by GJM View Post
    I have mainly been shooting my 2011 Open gun lately, and focusing on split speed, which is probably my greatest low hanging fruit.