Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Compromised back carry options help

Compromised back carry options help

I couldn't decide where to post this or even if I should post this but here it goes.

I'm looking for some input from the group. I've been a member here for a long time. I started carrying AIWB because of Todd. I started BJJ because of this group. I attended classes with Cecil, Tom, Ernest, and Gabe because of this group. I started shooting matches because of this group and pushed my shooting skill because of this group. I feel like I went from being a part-time .mil guy that could shoot nice groups to being a guy that is pretty squared away in defensive skill and mindset. I'm not trying to brag about that I just want to paint a picture of where I was at to where I'm at now. I'm pretty deflated about the entire situation but I know I'm not the only one that has every gone through a change like this.

I can't carry AIWB or IWB anymore. There is a lot of background info that I'm not going to go into but I have a back issue that I have been fighting for close to a year now. Any pressure from a pistol carried inside the waistband aggravates my back and continues to aggravate it for several days after. I went from carrying a 1911 or 34, to a 17, to a 19. I've also tried a 48 and a snubby. Weight doesn't matter, it's the pressure from having something inside the waistband.

So now I'm trying to figure out what the best option is moving forward. My jits brain tells me pocket carrying a rule one gun isn't going to work. 3 o'clock OWB isn't a great answer, although that's what I'm doing now when I'm in uniform. I'm a single dude that likes to date. I'm not wearing a fanny pack.

So what are my options that I'm not considering? Is there an OWB appendix carry option that might work? Do I just say screw it and carry something tiny in a pocket?