Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Zero shift with an Aimpoint magnifier

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    FL
    Quote Originally Posted by theJanitor View Post
    I think this is one place where mounts really matter. A couple of my rifles have Unity mounts for the optic. I share one magnifier between them. And aside from zeroing both rifles at the same time, swapping the magnifier between them, and using the adjusters to minimize shift, I do believe I can swap THAT magnifier between those rifles. All systems perform better than I can.
    Good point. My RDS mounts are all over the place. And the magnifier ends up being lower than the optic. However, the issue that spawned the thread was when using M5 in an OEM Aimpoint lower third mount and a magnifier in OEM Aimpoint twist off mount.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Coast
    Quote Originally Posted by sickeness View Post

    Common practice is to zero at distance with the magnifier accept shift at close range.
    I do this as well with my T1 and 3x-c magnifier on Larue mounts.

    I do sometimes wonder if it's less shift but rather the magnification that is allowing me to be more accurate/consistent with my dot placement.

  3. #23
    I have had a similar issue with Elcan SpectreDRs. There can be a shift between 1x and 4x magnification. The solution is to dial in zero at 4x for longer shots and either accept the POI shift at 1x or hold to compensate for it.

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark D View Post
    Yes. Chuck has also talked about this on his Patreon page a few times. He's adamant that every magnifier he's used has introduced some shift.
    Iím in this camp. Iíve tried multiple magnifiers, multiple mounts, multiple different Aimpoints going back at least 15 years. They all have shift for me. Eotechs donít have shift because they are holographic sights vs LED red dots. I can confirm the lack of shift with the EXPS and Eotech G45.

    That said, after trying to make it work for over a decade, I just donít bother with the red dot + 3x/5x/6x anymore. I much prefer LPVOs.

  5. #25
    Member cosermann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Indiana
    Quote Originally Posted by TGS View Post
    ... Is this issue supposed to be specific to the Aimpoint product?
    Older thread I know, but thought I'd resurrect it. Thus far in my sheltered life, from an optics perspective, my experience has been limited to red dots and scopes. Recently, SIG had their Juliet3 Micro on sale, so I jumped at the opportunity to try out a magnifier behind a Romeo5 I had laying around.

    Long story short, was working with the setup on Saturday at 50 yds, and while the red dot was dialed in, by itself, when used with the magnifier, the point of impact shifted up about an 1". Unfortunately, I ran out of time and ammo to diagnose further whilst at the range. An inch shift at 50 yds is pretty huge imo. So, relative to the question above, it can be an issue with this SIG product also.

    Everything seems to be mounted up well, aligned (factory mounts same height above the rail), torqued to spec., etc. Nothing seems too out of whack. So, I'm scratching my head. RDS zeroed, then Juliet3 Micro adjusted to center dot in its FOV (as per the manual, didn't take much). Any ideas on things I might chase down? Seems like per this thread, and another one [1] do I decide to live with it or not?

    [1] - https://pistol-forum.com/showthread....se-with-an-RDS

  6. #26
    Site Supporter
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Central Front Range, CO
    Quote Originally Posted by cosermann View Post
    Older thread I know, but thought I'd resurrect it. Thus far in my sheltered life, from an optics perspective, my experience has been limited to red dots and scopes. Recently, SIG had their Juliet3 Micro on sale, so I jumped at the opportunity to try out a magnifier behind a Romeo5 I had laying around.

    Long story short, was working with the setup on Saturday at 50 yds, and while the red dot was dialed in, by itself, when used with the magnifier, the point of impact shifted up about an 1". Unfortunately, I ran out of time and ammo to diagnose further whilst at the range. An inch shift at 50 yds is pretty huge imo. So, relative to the question above, it can be an issue with this SIG product also.

    Everything seems to be mounted up well, aligned (factory mounts same height above the rail), torqued to spec., etc. Nothing seems too out of whack. So, I'm scratching my head. RDS zeroed, then Juliet3 Micro adjusted to center dot in its FOV (as per the manual, didn't take much). Any ideas on things I might chase down? Seems like per this thread, and another one [1] do I decide to live with it or not?

    [1] - https://pistol-forum.com/showthread....se-with-an-RDS
    My (unsolicited) advice would be to zero it at 100 yds with the magnifier. Then see how it works at, say, 50 yds and in with the unmagnified Romeo5. My thinking being that out to 50 yds, a bare RDS is great, but at 100 yds and out, Iíd like magnification.

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Central Us
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy T View Post
    This week I was out refining a zero on an AR. It has Aimpoint Comp M5. I also mounted Aimpoint 3x-c magnifier behind it. With the dot only, I was getting hits on steel at 100 yards. With a magnifier, the dot shifted about half an IPSC width to the right and I was missing the steel.
    How common are magnifier zero shifts? I tried adjusting the windage screw on the magnifier but didn't feel like continuing and removed it.

    Is this a common occurrence? Should the rifle be zeroed with a magnifier in place instead?


User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •