Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Glock 31 Gen 4

Glock 31 Gen 4

Tell me a bit about these pistols, please? I know the 9mm Gen 4's had serious ejection problems, was this ever a thing with .40 or .357 models? I have an RCS Eidolon holster that I bought for G19X thinking it would fit but the ambi slide catch is in the way as these were designed for Gen 4 Glocks. So I'm looking for a gun to use in this holster and don't have .357 currently, figure why not just because you never know...

I have some experience with the Gen4 .40s, a bit of shooting- only a few hundred rounds- with the .357 and as a side note, a lot with a personal compact G19 (9mm).
    I am not personally aware of any functional issues with the Gen4 .357s, but I have not seen a lot of them. To me, the cartridge is unpleasant to shoot- lots of blast and usually spectacular muzzle flash. IMO, it’s hard on guns and shooters. I would certainly change the recoil spring assembly(dual) every few thousand rounds. The parts list # is the same for .40 and .357; .357 has a different ejector listed also. If memory serves, the round w/a 125 gr.projectile left the muzzle at 1200+fps out of a service size pistol.
    If you like and can work with the cartridge, have at it. Texas DPS was reportedly impressed with the cartridge out of SIGs years ago, and the Secret Service and FAMs used it for awhile. I don’t think any major department issues anymore- @HCM ?
    The G31 would be the one I’d pick if asked; but I’m rocking a fine 9 most days now…

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by 1Rangemaster View Post
    I have some experience with the Gen4 .40s, a bit of shooting- only a few hundred rounds- with the .357 and as a side note, a lot with a personal compact G19 (9mm).