Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: .308 load recommendation for hunting/defense

.308 load recommendation for hunting/defense

I am trying to decide on a .308 load for use in a SCAR 17 and Browning DBM semi auto that would be suitable for Kodiak deer, caribou, elk in a pinch, but also capable of grizzly bear defense while out hunting.

I see there is a Barnes 150 grain load, but am open to suggestions.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

The 165/168 grain bullets seem to be the sweet spot for the .308. I load for several rifles and only the Savage M99 gets 150gr cup and core bullets. Last year I went to a Nosler Accubond 165 on top of Varget, 44 grains? I would have to check records. Out of a 20 inch barrel I get about 2630 fps. This is what I have for eastern North Carolina Black Bear, I have yet to take one as I am still learning how to hunt them. I am confident it would be more than effective with shots to 300 yards up to elk sized game and have taken white tail deer at 400. I do load 168 Nosler Ballistic tips strictly for whitetail hunting, these normally produce one hole groups in any of my rifles. At my last count I have 5 .308s I load for.

I believe there is a .308 Gold Dot load out there. The Fusion/GD projectiles perform well in a lot of calibers.

Having the tendency to 'hedge my bets' where dangerous critters with heavy skeletal construction are involved, I look towards monolithic designs as the ''best option'' for a number of reasons. Amongst those are mitigated risk of excessive fragmentation, jacket/core separation, and moderated expansion ratios due to the greater yield strengths of the alloys involved in those designs. Ideally, I'd want to maximize sectional density to ensure greater penetration after expansion.