Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: carbine standards

carbine standards

I have always wanted to be a great rifleman. As a Marine, I was an expert and got to use those skills in the real world while in Afghanistan. Now that I am a civilian, I still hold myself to the idea and need to be a good rifleman. So far I have settled on holding myself to that standard using a 556 carbine (14.5 inch bcm).

Some of the standards I stick to are:
    1)Defoors 100 yard carbine standards, 10 rounds in 20 seconds at 100 yards on a b8. I hold myself to a 90 or better. It is shot from the standing to prone, on the beep you drop down.
    2) for close in carbine use (50 yards and in) I use the marsoc standards which you can find here https://www.thearmorylife.com/shoot-...meusoc-marine/

Does anyone else have any really good carbine drills?

Been meaning to give this one a try.

Target / Time: SR42 / 2 minutes

Start at 100y, run to 200y. Prone 2 rounds, Run to 100y, kneeling 2 rounds, Run to 50y, standing 2 rounds Run to 25y, standing 2 rounds Run to 10y, standing 2 rounds. Scoring: 80/100 to pass

I think longer distance marksmanship should be something folks train more on.

One important standard is knowing how to deal with a malfunction.

This drill was fantastic in Mike's class.

Theory.

I’m a big fan of the Modified Navy Qual that Jeff Gonzales made popular. It tests your ability to shoot from three different positions, with reloads, under time pressure, with strict accuracy standards (the target is an 8” circle and a missed shot costs you more points than an overtime shot). All you need is a 50 yard range, a timer, 3 5-round mags, and an 8” circle.
    My posts only represent my personal opinion and do not necessarily reflect the opinions or official policies of any employer, past or present. Obvious spelling errors are likely the result of an iPhone keyboard.

Quote Originally Posted by breakingtime91 View Post