Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: RDS-specific Drill or Training Program?

RDS-specific Drill or Training Program?

I'm new to RDS and am wondering if there is a specific drill progression that is recommended? I did search here but didn't find anything. I can certainly make one up on my own, based on mastering presentation from low-ready, from holster, transitions, etc., but if someone has already found an efficient system that works, I'd appreciate it.

So, this is an interesting one. I have friends and people I respect who don't think anything special needs to be done and I've got friends/those I respect who disagree.

Some thoughts based on what has worked in classes & feedback from others ...
    - work your draw, the presentation in reverse. Instead of starting at the holster, start with the dot on target and being the gun back to blew your chin & then back on target, repeat. Then from where your hands to the dot on target, etc. Regularly add that into dry practice.
    - dry practice & live fire occluded optic drills. I'll use blue painter's tape on the downrange side of the optic. Dominant eye sees the dot but not the target, the non-dom eye sees the target but not the dot. 90+% of the time the brain puts the images together and it breaks front sight focus.
    - Add in the acquisition, re-acquisition of the dot when transitioning between targets, after reloads, stoppages, & the like.

Quote Originally Posted by dogcaller View Post
    I'm new to RDS and am wondering if there is a specific drill progression that is recommended? I did search here but didn't find anything. I can certainly make one up on my own, based on mastering presentation from low-ready, from holster, transitions, etc., but if someone has already found an efficient system that works, I'd appreciate it.
    Max Michel Patreon
    Train with Max.

Full program with drills and demonstrations.