Thread: AAR- Shivworks ECQC Portland 6/17-6/19

Recently escaped the People's Republic of Portland

AAR- Shivworks ECQC Portland 6/17-6/19

I had to pleasure of attending Shivworks ECQC in Portland this past weekend. A few friends here who can identify themselves if they wish were also in attendance.

I am a self-admitted training junky throughout my life but also as an instructor myself. I normally go into a training class trying to wear a few sets of glasses at one time, one as a student for my own skills and the other as an instructor to see how I could potentially improve. Having trained all over the country with some truly fantastic instructors/schools, Shivworks, without question is at the top of my list following this weekend for gun combatives. This was not a ‘shooting’ class, this is a ‘fighting’ class.

As a general review, very few instructors have the delivery skills that Craig possesses. Regardless of the students’ skill level, Craig and team were able to keep the class moving forward and on topic without minimizing any students’ skills, questions, or abilities. From my instructor glasses, it was watching a master at work and truly impressive. From an overall command and control perspective, Craig has been the best instructor I have experienced in my life. At no time did any of the skills, drills, tests, etc feel unsafe or out of control. The delivery of the material allowed more experienced students to explore more advanced movements/options while still allowing less experienced students to equally work the skill. This is an extremely difficult management task by the instructor cadre and Craig was masterful.