Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beretta 92 slides-lighter is better?

Beretta 92 slides-lighter is better?

Wife and I have been shooting our EIIs for a long time now. About 5 years ago I started shooting idpa and put together a new M9A1 and I am generally in the middle of the overall results. I see a fair number of the CZ all steel guns and have shot a mag through a couple of them and the weight sure seems to help reduce muzzle rise. I have been thinking about the Beretta 92X Defensive but hard to justify the price. Recently idpa changed rules and now I can shoot w/ a weapon mounted light. So I am ready to try that next month. The extra weight has to help some, and the light is in the perfect place. Then I started thinking what about a Brig slide? Maybe I should go back to my old EII. But overall my impression is that I see more slide lightening for competition than going heavier. Wilson Berettas use a Brig slide but LTT uses a lighter Vertec slide. A Brig slide would make the gun heavier but I am not sure that adding weight to the slide is better. I think the trend is to make the slide lighter so there isn't so much weight moving back and forth. Do any of you have knowledge/thoughts on this question?

I used to own a Compact L and I always thought it shot much better than my full size 92. The sights tracked noticeably better and I felt the slide cycled faster due to its shorter length and lighter weight. However I sold it for other reasons before I really vetted it in competition/training, so I'm really just going off intuition and feel here

For recoil management, I would follow the maxim that "If it moves, make it lighter, if it doesn't move (much), make it heavier."

So, the following are usually good from a recoil mitigation perspective:
    --lightening the slide
    --adding a bull barrel
    --heavier frame
    --weaponlight
    etc.