Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: On eye dominance and shooting

On eye dominance and shooting

Background:

I’m right eye dominant and right handed. I started shooting red dots within a few months of starting shooting. The bulk of my dry fire and live fire has been with dots. Most of my shooting involves movement and vision tracking at very high speeds and efficiency. I can shoot irons competently now that I shoot pistol dots well.

I recently started shooting long guns and that requires non-dominant eye shooting on weak side.

I have some observations and hypotheses from my own experience and testing.

@Totem Polar
    @Clusterfrack

Ready for nerdery?

Here we go.

One of my guiding philosophies for learning and performance is that the more direct the input and output, the more efficient, rapid, reproducible and accurate. For macro things like draws and trigger you can see it on video.

But there are micro components that you cannot see.

From neurobiology, the FASTEST reflexes come from the simplest feedback loops. One neuron in and one neuron out. Short distance, high fidelity, less disruption possibilities.

To me in shooting, that’s a goal for vision and targeting.

Iron shooters and lens occluded dot shooters use their non-dominant eye to “superimpose” the target and sight from dominant eye together. This also happens when you have a large, bright reticle.

But how complicated is that wiring compared to direct, single eye feedback of a small dot on a target?

In the visual processing of the brain, binocular vision is quite complicated and it requires a lot of processing and ocular muscle coordination.

If you were to design a system for speed and efficiency, you’d want the most direct input and output.

From our lizard brains, the very ancient parts of our vision centers are extremely good at linear processing and comparison of simple shapes. Single dot on target. We are set up for that. Snap up the fly when it gets on target.