Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pistol zeroing after sight installation

Pistol zeroing after sight installation

I’m new to all this and Im considering getting a set of Speed Sights for my SA Hellcat. Just not crazy about that ‘U’ notch sight.

My question is since I don’t have the tools for removing & installing sights, I will be taking it to a gunsmith. After installing, how does one adjust or zero the sights without those tools to shift them? Does the gunsmith do this after paying him to install? Or Is it up to me to figure a way to adjust or drift the sights fractions of mm’s afterwards?

It doesn't seem as tho these dovetail type sights are easily (read accurately) adjusted in tiny increments by hammering on them. That would also seem to be awkward as hell to do on the fly @ the range!! Neither do they seem to lend themself to a quick, easy ‘Snap’ into place install.

My Walther has adjustable sights and they were,.. ARE shifted pretty significantly off center in the slides dovetail when it was purchased. I had to adjust the elevation & windage pretty far Up and to the R to zero that pistol when new. The speed sights do not allow for those type of easy, incremental adjustments, so Im confused as to how I establish a proper Zero once I get them installed.

Sorry if this is pretty basic, or seems like an obvious question, but as I mentioned, Im fairly new to CC and I know SQUAT about the mechanics involved. (…beyond a basic strip down for cleaning.)

If you don't have the tools or ability to self adjust, I suggest the following.

Place a target at 7, 10, or 25 yards. Whatever distance you can shoot a group. Not a pattern, but a group, from there a competent gunsmith can make adjustments.

This also helps with the math:

https://dawsonprecision.com/sight-calculator/

ETA: Choose a target with a small point of aim, 1" or 2" dot, use the same sight technique each time, be it level sight cutting desired POI, drive the dot, etc, and relay that to the gunsmith.