Thread: RFI - Building an addition to a house

RFI - Building an addition to a house

I have a new construction home that I am thinking of building an addition to. It's single story and I would like to add an "in-law" suite with master bath, closet, etc...
    I have never done that before. Where/how do I start?
    Based on some initial research, it appears that I will need drawings (which cost a bit) before I can get bids/estimates on the actual job.
    Any other suggestions, pitfalls, etc... ?

Oh, where to start...depending on what you want to build, you can probably get a designer to draw up a floor plan and architectural views and assuming everything is conventional and code compliant, a GC can give you an estimate. I've seen contractors submit basic sketches to plan review with city inspections, doesn't need to be anything super ornate. Whatever you do, make sure you pull permits and have everything inspected because it's an unholy pain in the ass to get third party inspections done after the fact. And don't believe anything you see on HGTV...

Assuming you live in a jurisdiction with building codes, building permits and zoning- I would see what the jurisdiction requires as part of the permitting process, most spell it out pretty clear on their website.

Some places allow conventional stick built construction w/o stamped plans , same for foundation details if you build to their standard drawings and the applicable code.

A remodal is certainly a big enough investment to involve design professionals and a good architect like a good tax person can save you more than their labor costs...
    Skinner Precision LLC official Account
    07 Manufacturer specializing in Competition Rifles

Gucci gear, Walmart skill Darth_Uno's Avatar