Thread: Sight focus......

Sight focus......

I am new to the form and have started shooting much more but running into a delicate.
    I understand that focus should be on the front site. When wearing my glasses which I do all the time I can not focus on it and the sight is a blur. I even had some night sights put on today and all I get is an orange blur. If I take my glasses off I can see the front sight as a pin sharp dot but I don't want to have to make pulling my glasses off as part of my shooting process.
    I assume a Red Dot sight would not help since the focus point is at the rear sight.
    What is a shooter do to beat this situation.
    Thanks
    Dano

Site Supporter
    Using sights, there are 3 different points involved: rear sight, front sight, and target.

Using a dot allows you to focus on the target. You do not need to focus on the dot in the same way you do a front sight. I think you should give a dot a try, at least look through one at arms length.

If that doesn't work, something like bifocals you can wear everyday that allows the front sight to be clear when shooting may be a solution.

Welcome Dano.

There are a lot of great shooters here; I'm not one, just a random geezer trying to stay off YouTube.

With regard to vision, I sympathize. I have corrected vision, starting with severe nearsightedness (20-1200 or worse) and astigmatism. I have only been shooting a few years, but in 2020 I started having issues focusing on the front sight.

I opted to switch to dots, and have been extremely happy so far. With a dot, you are focusing on the image superimposed on the target. In other words, you worry about one focal plane. Not three (rear sight, front sight, target). This has had an observable effect on my accuracy.

Plus, I see advantages in longer range shots, as well as in low light situations (I am no mall ninja however).