Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RDS on .40 S&W pistols

RDS on .40 S&W pistols

I spent a few hours searching this topic and saw only a few references to optics on .40s. I am relatively new to red dots and had CGW mount a Holosun 507C on my CZ 75 slide. I am a convert, as I can wear my corrective lenses to shoot. I have a CZ 40P that was my CCW pistol for several years and I am considering having it milled for a Holosun. Since the .40 is harder on my hands than the 9, I assume it would be harder on the optic, as well. I like the idea but am afraid durability might be a serious issue. I'd appreciate input from some of the SMEs and folks with experience in this department. Thank you.

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by Oldherkpilot View Post
    I spent a few hours searching this topic and saw only a few references to optics on .40s. I am relatively new to red dots and had CGW mount a Holosun 507C on my CZ 75 slide. I am a convert, as I can wear my corrective lenses to shoot. I have a CZ 40P that was my CCW pistol for several years and I am considering having it milled for a Holosun. Since the .40 is harder on my hands than the 9, I assume it would be harder on the optic, as well. I like the idea but am afraid durability might be a serious issue. I'd appreciate input from some of the SMEs and folks with experience in this department. Thank you.
    The logic is sound. However in my experience the key to optics durability is your mounting system. My local city police department approved optics on 40 Cal MMPs about a year ago. They’ve had issues with the mounting system more than the Optics them selves.