Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ballistol for storage/rust prevention?

Question Ballistol for storage/rust prevention?

Has anyone used this for guns that are mostly kept in storage? How often does it have to be re-applied to keep rust at bay?

An uncle is in his mid-80s but still keeps a shotgun at home. He used to rely on his favorite combo of Hoppe's 9 and Break Free for cleaning stuff but is now more sensitive to chemicals and strong odors. I bought a can of Ballistol for him to try but I have no experience with the product so I'm not sure how well it works for rust protection. The only other stuff I have on hand that I can give him is Lucas CLP but am not sure if Lucas is as mild/non-toxic as Ballistol.

From their site:

FIREARMSFirearm Cleaning Lubricant
    Keeps firearms protected – lock, stock and barrel.
    Ballistol cleans and removes all types of bore fouling. Cleaning with Ballistol will save you time, minimize the need for brushing, and also form a protective film on your firearm. Due to its slight alkalinity, Ballistol neutralizes and dissolves black powder and corrosive ammo residue. In addition, Ballistol will beautify gunstocks, and prevent them from drying out. As a lubricant, Ballistol will never gum up or harden. With Ballistol, your entire firearm will stay lubricated and protected.
    The main ingredient is mineral oil. It should be fine protecting a firearm in storage...assuming it is stored with a modicum of care.

Better make sure the odor of Ballistol is not repulsive to him. I don't mind it, but many folks do.
    There's nothing civil about this war.

Quote Originally Posted by blues View Post

Better make sure the odor of Ballistol is not repulsive to him. I don't mind it, but many folks do.
    Thanks Blues. The scent part, I did not account for. I'll test later in the day and figure out if the smell is something that might be a problem for him.