Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jagerwerks G17 Gen5 Slide Milling

Jagerwerks G17 Gen5 Slide Milling

I sent my new-ish GEN5 Glock 17 slide off to be milled this past summer and got it back a few weeks ago. I am finding that the previously 100% reliable gun is now extremely prone to bad feeding. The round makes it halfway into the chamber and the slide stops. It makes me think the slide is not traveling fully to the rear. The weight difference between that stripped milled slide with RMR and my Glock 34 Gen5 is negligible ( .23 ounce). I tried using the Glock 17 slide on my Glock 34 frame and the results were similar. I did find that if I use a death grip and make sure my wrists are locked absolutely solid, that I get 90% functionality. But this gun has never been susceptible to limp-wristing before it was milled. I am at a loss to figure out why this is happening. I’ve had slides milled before through L&M Precision and never any hint of a problem. This is my first time doing it through Jagerwerks. I used them because L&M retired and based on their excellent reputation. I will say their communication is not great. No customer service number and very slow replies to emails. One thing I did notice is that the RMR mounting screw over the extractor rod was not ground down. In the past, it had been shortened to ensure no interference with the extractor. I manually pushed the rod with the RMR mounting screw locked in, and did not see any restriction of movement though.
    Any thoughts would be welcome. Thanks.

If I were you then I’d do a few things:
    -Ensure slide is assembled correctly, disassemble and reassemble
    -Check again that no mounting screws are interfering with function
    -Mark your magazines to eliminate those variables as well
    -Try another ammo if possible
    -When you switched did you keep the same recoil spring?
    -Remove the optic and shoot the G17 slide without it, with screws and without