Thread: Buck and slug loading

Buck and slug loading

Hello,
    I am completely new to the reloading world. And I’m looking for some tips on getting started, everything from what equipment and supplies is needed. I would like to start by loading my own buckshot and slugs, does anyone here have experience in that area? Also, a good place to locate the shot and slugs for loading would be nice, in my own searches I only found one or two places. I hope that with being able to buy pre primed hulls that with some practice I could eventually count on them for serious use. Also I’m willing to admit that I don’t know what I don’t know, so if in your opinion it’s not worth doing let me know, thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog View Post
    Hello,
    I am completely new to the reloading world. And IÂ’m looking for some tips on getting started, everything from what equipment and supplies is needed. I would like to start by loading my own buckshot and slugs, does anyone here have experience in that area? Also, a good place to locate the shot and slugs for loading would be nice, in my own searches I only found one or two places. I hope that with being able to buy pre primed hulls that with some practice I could eventually count on them for serious use. Also IÂ’m willing to admit that I donÂ’t know what I donÂ’t know, so if in your opinion itÂ’s not worth doing let me know, thank you.
    It's not the best time to start, as components are tough to find. There was a guy on castboolits who was making buckshot, and I'd start by looking for him. Everything else is hit or miss.

Buy a Lyman book, and don't deviate from load data. There are guys on YouTube who post all kinds of data, but (almost) none of them pressure test it. Again, on castboolits, there is a shotgun loading subforum, and one guy there has tested his data. Ballistic Products has data.