Thread: AAR: Ben Stoeger's 2-Day Advanced Competition Pistol Class

AAR: Ben Stoeger's 2-Day Advanced Competition Pistol Class

After Action Report: Ben Stoeger's 2-Day Advanced Competition (USPSA) Pistol Class
    July 28th and 29th, 2012 at the Holmen Rod & Gun Club in Holmen, WI

Introduction
    Most of the guys on Team WIILSHOOT are primarily competition shooters and when we got a chance to take a lesson with Ben Stoeger, we decided to go "all in!" 6 of us rolled up to Holmen last weekend to listen and learn to the 2011 USPSA Production-class National Champion, Ben Stoeger. We were most interested in his observations of our match performance.

This AAR gives a brief overview of the topic presented, the teaching style used and some of the more interesting observations.

My Background
    I'm a fairly seasoned competitive shooter - my background is here: http://www.wiilshoot.com/p/team-wiil-shoot.html Most of the guys that I rolled up with are also pretty salty too.

My Gear
    Through the course, I ran a Glock model 22 in .40 using my reloads: 5.7gr of Power Pistol with a 165gr Precision Delta jacketed bullet. Additionally, I ran a Safariland ELS belt with Safariland 5188 holster and Safariland 773 pouches. My gear ran just fine.

Class Statistics
    The weather in Holmen was nice, sunny and a bit hot on Saturday, and rainy, humid and hot on Sunday. The Holmen Rod & Gun Club was well organized, and folks welcomed us.

Ben had two helpers, Lori and Ronnie Casper. They helped with logistics immensely! Both are pretty seasoned too: Ronnie is a GM Production shooter and Lori is a Master-class Production shooter. Kita Stoeger, Ben's lovely wife, also helped out by demoing the Ghost mag pouches.

The course had 11 people:
    2 Open shooters (my teammates Scotty and Chris). Both ran Akai open guns with C-More optics in .38 Super (supercomp)
    3 M&P shooters - I think all were 9mm.
    3 Glock Shooters - 2 9's and a .40