Thread: PVS-14 Advice

PVS-14 Advice

I am ready to buy a night vision device. For entry level, I think a PVS-14 makes sense. I'd like to have a binocular device, but two tubes is more than I am going to spend right now. There are a myriad of PVS-14 options out there. I'd think I'd prefer a factory built unit, but most of what is out there seems to be assembled by secondary vendors.

I am looking for a unit primarily for emergencies / grid down scenarios and maybe for hog hunting or similar. I have no experience using NVD's, so I'll probably do some training with it.

What should I get? Advice welcome.

TNVC has a good reputation and they will take the time to answer your questions over the phone. I am not sure what you mean by factory vs secondary vendors.

Get the best quality you can afford. That’s not an area where I want to skimp and settle, given the prices. The difference in quality between a Gen 2.5 tube and a Gen 3 is pretty significant. If it’s not in the cards due to cost, do yourself a favor and save for the better quality product.
    You can get much more of what you want with a kind word and a gun, than with a kind word alone.

I'm going to second the recommendation of TNVC. They were super helpful with any questions that I had and will be able to point you in the right direction with optics selection as well as mounts and accessories.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy T View Post
    TNVC has a good reputation and they will take the time to answer your questions over the phone. I am not sure what you mean by factory vs secondary vendors.
    You can buy a factory PVS-14 unit that was made in a factory by the tube manufacturer. For example, TNVC sells a unit made by L3 Harris, but it is currently out of stock:

https://tnvc.com/shop/l3h-m914a-pvs14-2376fom/

Presumably this is what the military does.