Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A weekend with an Acro P-2

A weekend with an Acro P-2

Our own @Wayne Dobbs was kind enough to loan me a demo Acro P-2 this past weekend.

It’s hard to give a review of something after only a few days with it, but I told him I would so here goes.

Just remember, these are one guy’s opinions and your mileage may vary.

Background

I started playing with pistol-mounted RDO’s back in 2013 or so, but didn’t seriously consider one for my own use on a gun I actually carried until last year when I started using a Trijicon RM07 Type 2 mounted on my duty/daily carry Glock 17. Most of my pistol RDO time has been spent with both Type 1 (shoe-goo) and Type 2 RMR’s although I also really like the DPP despite its shortcomings.

When I first saw the Aimpoint Acro P-1 a couple years ago my first thought was, “Well that’s big and ugly.”

I’ve had the same Aimpoint CompM2 for a decade and a half mounted on my work carbine. I’ve banged it into just about everything possible and exposed it to just about every element that Northern and Southern California can muster and having only changed the battery less times than I have fingers, usually leaving it turned on, I have to say I’ve been extremely impressed with what the product the company offers. Never mind the fact my department has another 140 or so Aimpoint optics in service all which have had zero issues. So despite my first impression, I figured Aimpoint probably knew what they were doing with a pistol RDO. When I really began to understand the benefits of a truly enclosed emitter, the call of the Acro became more and more appealing and the now advertised long battery life out of the common 2032 just pushed me over the edge. I pre-ordered one.

I have ZERO experience with the Acro P-1 so I cannot compare the two.

The Gun and the Holster