Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Firefighting

Firefighting

So, a lot of you know I am a teacher. I love it but the current political climate, quarantining, and stress has made this career a completely different beast for me. I come from a long line of fire fighters, including both of my grandfathers being Chiefs. I just emailed the recruiter today.. any info or good luck wishes are welcome. This is a big move for me because I am 30, just bought a house, and have four kids to support. I am good with money so that isn't a huge deal but a huge weight has just been lifted off my chest.

Site Supporter
    Best of luck to you!

(in before all the police officers start busting your balls)

Site Supporter
    Good luck!

Do it! I know you'll do it well.
    There's nothing civil about this war.

Read: Harrison Bergeron

I’m in the fire service. I’m happy to help. You can hit me up via PM or I have no problem putting it out in public. I’ve sat on interview boards and I think that’s where people get tripped up the most. It’s not like interviewing for a Fortune 500 or probably even teacher. Having family in the service helps to know the culture.

If you’re AO is like mine, fire is hurting for quality people just like the po-po. Squared away people in good shape with a good work ethic and don’t have a shady background shouldn’t have any issues. Unless they require you to have a certain level of training to get hired. Our FD has had to start looking at people with zero training because they can’t find quality people who actually have training. It’s crazy. Use to be hundreds of people competing for jobs. Now it’s dozens of agencies trying to poach good candidates from each other.