Thread: Why do people refer to the FN509/C/Tac as a.....

Why do people refer to the FN509/C/Tac as a.....

Why do people refer to the FN509/C/Tac as a “sub-compact” sized handgun? I mean, it’s perty dang compact as far as being a tight little package...(btw, I’m pretty new to the firearms world but I’ve grown quite tired of that word “tactical”, to the point of not caring to mention the word even if it belongs to a specific product, given the fact I don’t have to.). I digress. I mean, I took side by side measurements with another manufacturers “compact” pistol (well, my only other firearm to be exact) and the two damn near line up. Well, the only exception being grip length. I’ll be totally honest, I’m not sure if the grip length alone puts a pistol into a different category/class of pistol. I myself wouldn’t think the grip length alone could make a pistol classed differently but then again there being a lack of uniformity with respect to industry standard definitions and classifications thus leaving it up to the manufacturer to classify there own sizes, which is cool I guessName:  4C6D5F40-CDE5-4E46-834A-9F9526727B6A.jpg
Views: 473
Size:  89.6 KB
    Last edited by 1dude1dog1gun; 06-17-2021 at 02:16 AM.

Most manufacturers compete and might try to match or exceed each other on certain specs. Despite that, it's easier to think of the size naming conventions in relation to the given platform itself. Like compact or sub-compact relative to the standard, full-size 509 as opposed to some other platform.
    Administrator for PatRogers.org

Site Supporter
    Anyone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the size categories were mostly established as Glocks first gained popularity with the G17 being a full size, G19 as a compact, and G26 as a subcompact. Sure, there were bigger and smaller guns before then, but I believe that was when the naming conventions stuck. Of course, not everything fits neatly into these categories.