Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1911 RDS cut: Wilson Combat True Zero or Nighthawk Custom IOS

1911 RDS cut: Wilson Combat True Zero or Nighthawk Custom IOS

I have a Wilson Combat Ultralight Carry Compact and have been giving some thought into having an RDS cut made on the slide. Obviously Wilson will be able to use their True Zero system if I send my slide in. However, I do like how the Nighthawk IOS system allows any easy transition back to irons only if desired, and it appears that their cut sits lower in the slide allowing me to use existing sights.

Assuming Nighthawk will do the work on my WC slide, are there any other considerations? I assume the slide will need to be refinished, so hopefully Nighthawk will be able to do something similar to the black Armor-Tuff. Also, if I go with the NH IOS, will I be voiding any warranty I have with WC?

Thanks in advance!

Can't speak to the Wilson offering, but the NH IOS is outstanding. Range buddy has one, it absolutely holds zero (100-10x) repeatable at 25 yds, is beautifully executed, and swaps between irons and optic in about 10 seconds. Now granted, that's on top of a $7k NH, in very competent hands.
    Taking a break from social media.

I've got a single iOS slide, and I admire the design.

I think it's probably the most relevant if you plan to regularly swap out plates. I do wish that a greater variety of iOS plates were available (sealed emitter options - I'm looking at you), but assuming you find a willing smith, iron sight plates can be converted. I can confirm that Nighthawk was unable to sell entirely blank iOS plates as of about 6 months ago (not a knock on NH, the product and the service were both outstanding).
    Per the PF Code of Conduct, I have a commercial interest in the StreakTM product as sold by Ammo, Inc.