Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 64 And Looking For Fitness Advise

64 And Looking For Fitness Advise

Hi.I'm 64 and would like some advise on getting fitter.I'm 6' and about 160 lbs,I lost 20-30 lbs over the past months due to stress(divorce).I've been working out with dumbbells for the past 5 months,currently doing rows,triceps press alternating every other workout with overhead press curls 8X5 and pushups(to failure)s three days a week,squats 6x6 and running or sprinting three days a week on leg day.I'd like to do more.my diet is terrible,i don't eat enough,stress again.I'm trying to focus getting more protein and less carbs and fats.My testosterone is good.I'd like to gain more muscle which i understand is harder to do at 64.I'm fairly lean but still have some fat.I want to be healthy and live as long as possible.I do take vitamins.I'd prefer not joining a gym,as least yet.I'd like to incorporate other pieces of equipment than just dumbbells.thanks for the help as always.

Bro, it sounds like you're already doing more than 99% of people your age, or younger!

chart I keep at home, that I desperately need to start doing more of. that's my best suggestion.
    Rules to live by: 1. Eat meat, 2. Shoot guns, 3. Fire, 4. Gasoline, 5. Make juniors
    TDA: Learn it. Live it. Love it.... Read these: People Management Triggers 1, 2, 3
    If anyone sees a broken image of mine, please PM me.

hufnagel,thank you.I can do more,I want to do more.Nutrition is a big issue with me,when I'm stressed,as I often am now,I don't eat.

What's your testosterone level? You want it around 1000 IME.

I agree you're doing more than the vast majority of people your age.

Are you talking with a counselor or therapist? I think if you started to work on the stress everything else might start falling in place.

Stress raises cortisol which lowers testosterone and raises bodyfat.

Dave,the urologist said my testosterone was high(I'll see if I can get a number).