Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: So, how do you differentiate a Taser from a gun?

So, how do you differentiate a Taser from a gun?

it's an honest question. i have no LE experience and i've never done anything with tasers. so how do you guys tell the difference in the heat of battle? is it colored different? mounted on your weak-hand side? what procedures are in place to prevent you from accidentally grabbing your gun instead of the taser?

Lack of thoroughgoing familiarity with life-saving equipment which is carried daily, and used as a part of your professional responsibilities, is altogether inexcusable.
    "Therefore, since the world has still... Much good, but much less good than ill,
    And while the sun and moon endure, Luck's a chance, but trouble's sure,
    I'd face it as a wise man would, And train for ill and not for good." -- A.E. Housman

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by smokeman View Post
    it's an honest question. i have no LE experience and i've never done anything with tasers. so how do you guys tell the difference in the heat of battle? is it colored different? mounted on your weak-hand side? what procedures are in place to prevent you from accidentally grabbing your gun instead of the taser?
    General practice is to wear tasers on the support hand side, whether belt or vest mounted, either for a support hand draw (what I do) or for cross draw with the strong hand. Either is distinct from drawing a firearm with the strong hand.

If I recall correctly, in the last high profile gun mistaken for taser incident involving the SF Bay Area Rapid Transit Police, the officer had the taser in a thigh rig on the strong side below his duty pistol.

many tasers are now colored yellow but that is less for the officer and more for witnesses and distinction on video.

Site Supporter