Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it just me or is Lee underappreciated?

Is it just me or is Lee underappreciated?

I've been reloading for twenty years and I always ignored Lee stuff as "cheap" or lesser quality than other companies like RCBS, Lyman and Dillon.

I've recently started using Lee products and I'm incredibly impressed with their value and the thought put into them. They often seems to feel more "plasticky" and not as finished as some others, but I'll be damned if they don't work really well.

Am I missing anything here?

I agree. And beyond the "value proposition" that Lee so clearly targets, they also innovate in a number of different areas. I'm not aware of anyone who makes anything comparable to their Factory Crimp Die, for instance.

I'm glad we've got the upper-tier companies in the business. But I'm also very glad we have Lee.

They used to be kinda crappy but have really upped their game. Leupold needs to pay closer attention to how they do things.

Okie John
    “The reliability of the 30-06 on most of the world’s non-dangerous game is so well established as to be beyond intelligent dispute.” Finn Aagaard
    "Don't fuck with it" seems to prevent the vast majority of reported issues." BehindBlueI's

Modding this sack of shit BehindBlueI's's Avatar
    I've never loaded on anything else.
    Sorta around sometimes for some of your shitty mod needs.

If you have appropriate expectations depending on what you bought from them, their stuff is fantastic. I’ve never had a problem with their dies. I don’t expect their Lee App to be without issues that need to be adjusted through, but show me a competitor.
    #RESIST

I am a reloading snob and really like Redding products but I have and use quite a bit of Lee's tools and dies. The aforementioned Factory Crimp Die and the Lee Auto Prime are great.

Site Supporter