Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Y'all, is there a DA/SA pistol with a grip angle like a Glock?

Site Supporter

Y'all, is there a DA/SA pistol with a grip angle like a Glock?

I've got no dog in this fight. A friend asked me, and I told him that frankly I didn't know, but I knew who to ask. I know that my 80 and 90 series Berettas, as well as the PX4's with whatever backstrap adapter you put on them, are nowhere close. I have no experience with other DA/SA guns.

Quote Originally Posted by Welder View Post
    I've got no dog in this fight. A friend asked me, and I told him that frankly I didn't know, but I knew who to ask. I know that my 80 and 90 series Berettas, as well as the PX4's with whatever backstrap adapter you put on them, are nowhere close. I have no experience with other DA/SA guns.
    I find the grip angle of the CZ P-07 to be similar enough to a Glock that I can shoot both interchangeably.
    “There is no growth in the comfort zone.”--Jocko Willink
    "You can never have too many knives." --Joe Ambercrombie

How grips feel is highly subjective, and I am not challenging Clusterfrack's comfort with the P-07, but my understanding is that it has an 18 degree angle like almost every other gun. The only guns I know of with grip angles like the Glock are the Ruger .22, the Colt Woodsman .22 and the Luger 9mm. I once heard that part of the motivation for the grip angle on the .22's was to promote feeding reliability of the rimmed cartridge. I would guess the grip angle on the Glock was probably due to some familiarity or fondness for the Luger by whoever actually designed the gun.

Perhaps the right combination of side pieces and backstraps on guns like the HK could approximate the Glock angle?

Quote Originally Posted by jd950 View Post
    Perhaps the right combination of side pieces and backstraps on guns like the HK could approximate the Glock angle?
    Nope.