Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Opinions requested - sell unused firearms now, or wait?

Opinions requested - sell unused firearms now, or wait?

I have several handguns and long guns that I’m no longer using, and I want to lighten my load. I’m not looking to gouge, but I’m trying to decide whether to sell now or move them to NH and sell later. I’m going to follow all transfer laws, which here in IL means waiting periods and the like. One advantage to selling while I’m still an IL resident is that the requirement that purchasers have a FOID and pass a quick validity check - I’m sensitive to what happens to my guns because one I sold years ago to a friend’s son was used in his suicide.

Sell or hold? The money would be useful right now, too. Like I said I don’t want to gouge, but the used market was depressed for so long that I was holding them for conditions to get better.
    Ken

BBI: ...”you better not forget the safe word because shit's about to get weird”...
    revchuck38: ...”mo' ammo is mo' betta' unless you're swimming or on fire.”

Modding this sack of shit BehindBlueI's's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyDuty View Post
    The money would be useful right now, too.
    That's probably the deciding factor vs speculation. Depending on what sort of guns they are, you may see movement price wise as politics and current events shift the winds of the market. I doubt we'll see values *fall* any time soon. But if you've got a good use for that money right now, that might be a good reason to sell and deal with whatever that good use is.

I am mulling selling my 9mm P229 and just keeping the .40 version, but I don't have anything I want the money for right now.
    Sorta around sometimes for some of your shitty mod needs.