Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Schooling Requested: 28 Gauge O/U

Schooling Requested: 28 Gauge O/U

The youngest (closer to teen than tyke) is not a fan of hard kickers but needs a shotgun. Twenty-eight gauge seems just the ticket despite limited load availability. So I just ordered her a Stevens 555 base model with extractors rather than ejectors to save the precious hulls. Handloading is very much going to be indicated, make top-off loading easy, and I don't like littering plastic in the hunting fields anyway.

That said, I have zero experience with the gauge or doubles for that matter. Could therefore use a soundboard.

Use: Hand-thrown clays, squirrel, hare, 'coon, ruffed grouse, crow, feral pigeon, turkey, and the like.

Cover: Tight young growth in labyrinthine logging trails. Steep mountainsides.

Seasons: Four but autumn, early winter, early spring for field use.

Current Theory: Find the barrel which pri ts closest to POA and choke it more tightly. Other barrel choked more open with selector set to fire first for snap shots at ose flushing game with other selectable for longer shots. 28 gauge versus 410 bore for more shot, less shot stringing, and bit easier connection on the wing. Shells are also available right now. Double barrel for light weight and fit to youth with bonus break-action for ease of supervision. Shame 28 gauge single barrels are hens teeth with a price to match.

Ammo: Ordered a bit of #6 and 275 rounds of #7 1/2. See if the six shot patterns respectably as a hopeful primary game load. Smaller shot as substitute-standard and practice unless it patterns notably better in which case default to it. Or would 7 1/2 in the open choke and #6 innthe tighter one make sense despite the added administrative thought involved?

Not asking for validation in the purchase. But rather advice in running what has been bought within its intended usage. I'm sure someone here has spent some time swatting critters with a twenty-eight.

Site Supporter